Faculty of Architecture and Design

See the DBIS subject overview for a comprehensive list of architecture and design sources.

Images

ARTstor

Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.

In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Archnet.org

Open access to a very unique set of resources related to the built environment of the Muslim world.

Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes

Updated regularly. A typologically organized archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials. The initial component of Catena is built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Serves as an educational tool for teachers and scholars of landscape history affiliated with schools and universities. The images and intellectual content on this site should be used for educational purposes only.

Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Note: Pop-up blockers on browsers must be disabled for viewing content.

Cities/Buildings Database

Updated regularly. Offers more than 5,000 images of buildings from across time and throughout the world. Search for buildings by country, city, style, title of building, architect and/or date of construction.

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey

Updated regularly. The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.

VADS (Visual Arts Data Services)

Updated regularly. Provides a central resource of over 100, 000 high quality digital images from across a range of visual arts subjects (including applied arts, architecture, design, fine art and media) from across the UK.

RIBApix

Periodicals

Print editions of the following periodicals are available in the Klingemann library. Digital versions are linked below.

Detail

FRAMƎ

Research Articles / Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Online Catalogue

Updated daily. Provides an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals as well as a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials held in the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library, including the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and the RIBA Library Drawings Collection. Also includes a biographical database of architects. It covers a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from prehistory to the present, which are international in scope. In addition to architectural theory, practice and history there is material on allied subjects such as building and construction, civil engineering, structural engineering, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, the decorative arts, town and country planning, and construction law.