Faculty of Architecture and Design

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Pidgeon Digital is fully searchable and currently consists of 265+ illustrated talks and 200+ transcripts. New talks are added regularly. Notable speakers include 17 Pritzker Prize Winners and 15 RIBA Royal Gold Medal Winners.

Pidgeon Digital began in 1979 as a series of tape/slide talks created by Monica Pidgeon, the editor of Architectural Design from the mid-1940s to the 1970s. She wanted students of architecture and design to have the opportunity to share the thinking of world leading members of the architectural community, to whom they would not otherwise have access. In 2006 the illustrated talks were digitized.

Updated daily. Provides an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals as well as a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials held in the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library, including the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and the RIBA Library Drawings Collection. Also includes a biographical database of architects. It covers a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from prehistory to the present, which are international in scope. In addition to architectural theory, practice and history there is material on allied subjects such as building and construction, civil engineering, structural engineering, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, the decorative arts, town and country planning, and construction law.

"For the office ranking, publications made within the previous 24 months are taken into account. The evaluation includes the printed main issues of each magazine.

The national ranking lists are based on evaluation of six German (Bauwelt, Detail) and six international professional journals (Architectural Review, a+u, architektur aktuell, Werk Bauen und Wohnen, domus)." - BauNetz: Procedure Rules

In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Updated regularly. A typologically organized archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials. The initial component of Catena is built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Serves as an educational tool for teachers and scholars of landscape history affiliated with schools and universities. The images and intellectual content on this site should be used for educational purposes only.

Note: Pop-up blockers on browsers must be disabled for viewing content.

Updated regularly. The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Pidgeon Digital is fully searchable and currently consists of 265+ illustrated talks and 200+ transcripts. New talks are added regularly. Notable speakers include 17 Pritzker Prize Winners and 15 RIBA Royal Gold Medal Winners.

Pidgeon Digital began in 1979 as a series of tape/slide talks created by Monica Pidgeon, the editor of Architectural Design from the mid-1940s to the 1970s. She wanted students of architecture and design to have the opportunity to share the thinking of world leading members of the architectural community, to whom they would not otherwise have access. In 2006 the illustrated talks were digitized.

Updated daily. Provides an index to over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals as well as a catalogue of the books and audio visual materials held in the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library, including the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, and the RIBA Library Drawings Collection. Also includes a biographical database of architects. It covers a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from prehistory to the present, which are international in scope. In addition to architectural theory, practice and history there is material on allied subjects such as building and construction, civil engineering, structural engineering, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, the decorative arts, town and country planning, and construction law.