Citation Examples: Chicago

Note: For more information about using generative AI tools in your research, see Making the most of Generative AI (ChatGPT etc.).

Please note that guidelines for working with generative AI are both new and changing quickly. It's always a good idea to check the website of the style guide for the latest information.

Chicago Manual of Style, Citing Content Developed or Generated by Artificial Intelligence, Released in spring 2023

In Chicago style, when citing AI-generated content, acknowledge the AI tool as the author. You can include a note or parenthetical citation without listing it in your bibliography. Currently, Chicago advises treating AI content like private conversations, as shareable links are not typically available. Mention the prompt details in the text or as a footnote, and use the date of content generation in your citation. Note that guidance may evolve with new AI features.

Format

Author, Title, Publisher, Date, url for the tool.  

Example (if information about the prompt has been included within the text of your paper)

Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat. 

Example (including information about the prompt)

ChatGPT, response to "Provide step by step instructions on how to build a house," OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat. 

Book (single author)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

"There is a consistently high correlation between the voting patterns of parents and the eventual voting patterns of their children, as demonstrated by Miller and Hastings."²

Footnote

 #. Author's First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page.

 2. Kathleen Thelen, How Institutions Evolve: The Political Economy of Skills in Germany (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 271.

Reference

Author’s Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, date of publication.

Thelen, Kathleen. How Institutions Evolve: The Political Economy of Skills in Germany. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.

Book (two or three authors)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

The Seattle Advertiser made some startling claims about interventions by corporate interests in the 2004 mayoral election.¹

Footnote

 #. First author First name Last name and second author First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page.                     

 1. Peter Gourevitch and James Shinn, Political Power and Corporate Control: The New Global Politics of Corporate Governance (New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2005), 59.

Reference

First author Last name, First name, and second author First name Last name. Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Gourevitch, Peter, and James Shinn. Political Power and Corporate Control: The New Global Politics of Corporate Governance. New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2005.

Book (more than three authors)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

The theory that the Renaissance marked a radical break with previous history is now discounted by many, notably by Sadie Hawkins in her book The Myth of the Renaissance.³

Footnote

#. First author First name Last name et al., Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page.

 3. Camilla de La Bédoyère et al., A Brief History of Art (London: Flame Tree Publishing, 2006), 101.

Reference

First Author Last name, First name, remaining authors’ First name Last name. Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

De la Bédoyère, Camilla, Ihor Holubizky, Julia Kelly, Michael Kerrigan, James Mackay, William Matar, Tom Middlemos, Michael Robinson, and Iain Zaczek. A Brief History of Art. London: Flame Tree Publishing, 2006.

eBooks

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Hartmann and Henderson have argued that the rate of infant mortality in fifth-century Athens has been considerably overestimated.³

Footnote

 #. Author(s) First name Last name, Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Edition. url (if available)/database name/device/format.

3. Lesley A. Beaumont, Childhood in Ancient Athens: Iconography and Social History  (London: Routledge, 2012), https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucd/detail.action?docID=1114632.

Reference

Author(s) Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle, edition . Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. url (if available)/database name/device/format.

Beaumont, Lesley A. Childhood in Ancient Athens: Iconography and Social History. London: Routledge, 2012. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucd/detail.action?docID=1114632.

Note: If a book is available in print and online you must cite the version of the book you consulted for your work. Access dates are only included if no publication date information is available. Also note that a place of publication may not be available for an e-book. If this is the case, write "n.p." ("no place") where you would have recorded the place of publication.

Note: If you access your book on an eReader or other type of platform, insert that instead of the url (e.g. Kindle, Google Play Books, iBooks etc.).

Note: Where page numbers are not available or where they change depending on the device used to view the eBook, the CMOS, 17th Edition advises including chapter numbers or section headings instead. If a scanned version of an original book is available online to read, this version is preferable for citation.

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

According to Michael Sheringham in Restless Cities, the rubbish or waste of a city can be seen as a sort of archive.²

Footnote

#. First Author(s) First name Initials Last name, “Title of Chapter,” in Book Title, ed. First name Initials Last name of editor (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page.

2. Michael Sheringham, “Archiving,” in Restless Cities, ed. Matthew Beaumont and Gregory Dart (London: Verson, 2010), 9.

Reference

Author(s) Last name, First name Initial(s). “Title of chapter.” In Book Title, edited by First name Last name, Pages. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Sheringham, Michael. “Archiving.” In Restless Cities, edited by Matthew Beaumont and Gregory Dart, 10-24. London: Verso, 2010.

Journal article (single author)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

In this piece the concepts of justice, democracy and sustainability are explored in relation to climate change and health.¹

Footnote

#. Author(s) First name Last name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): Page.                    

1. Marcus Barber, “Global Warming and the Political Ecology of Health: Emerging Crises and Systemic Solutions,” The Australian Journal of Anthropology 21, no. 3 (2010): 390.

Reference

Author(s) Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Month Year): pages.

Barber, Marcus. “Global Warming and the Political Ecology of Health: Emerging Crises and Systemic Solutions.” The Australian Journal of Anthropology 21, no. 3 (2010): 390 – 391.

Journal article (two or three authors)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Morgan, Carswell, and Lamore argue that accusations of political correctness increase at times of economic insecurity.³

Footnote

#. Author(s) First name Last name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): Page.

 3. Brendan Boyd, Laurence Teale, and Kai Takuma, “Where to Now for New Age Travellers?,” Sociology of Subcultures 9, no. 1 (1997): 13.

Reference

First Author Last name, First name, remaining authors First name Last name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): pages.

Morgan, Sylvia, Danny Carswell, and Lynda Lamore. “The Rise of Political Correctness in Post-War Britain.” Twentieth Century Britain 25, no. 3 (2010): 412-416.

Journal article (more than three authors)

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Virtue et al. have traced the dialectic between romanticism and anti-romanticism in Twain's thought.³

Footnote

#. Author(s) First name Last name et al., “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Month Year): Page.

 3. Camilla de La Bédoyère et al., A Brief History of Art (London: Flame Tree Publishing, 2006), 101.

Reference

First Author(s) Last name, First name, remaining authors First name Last name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Month Year): pages.

Virtue, Simon, Holly Wright, Dale Diamond, and Sheila Murphy. “Was Mark Twain a Nihilist?” American Literary Essays 3, no. 88 (1943): 13-27.

eJournal article

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Sanderson estimates that most surviving game boards show evidence of at least five years' use.³

Footnote

#. Author(s) First name Last name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Month  Year): page, doi/url/database name.

3. Lynda Mulvin and Steven E. Sidebotham, “Roman Game Boards from Abu Sha'ar (Red Sea Coast, Egypt),” Antiquity 78, no. 301 (2004): 604, https://doi.org/10.1017/S0003598X00113250. 

Reference

Author(s) Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Month Year): Pages. DOI/URL/Database name.

Mulvin, Lynda,  and Steven E. Sidebotham. "Roman Game Boards from Abu Sha'ar (Red Sea Coast, Egypt)." Antiquity 78, no. 301 (2004): 602-617. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0003598X00113250.

Note: 17th edition of the CMOS advises to only include an access date if no publication date is provided. This is a change from the 16th edition.

Note: Month of publication only needs to be included where given in source citation.

Note: For more than three authors, list all of the authors in the bibliography; in the footnote, list only the first author, followed by et al., (“and others”). For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the bibliography followed by et al.. List only the first author followed by et al., in the footnote. 

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

 In "The Woman with the Puppets," Gloag uses cool greys and blacks to portray a gently smiling woman, reclining on a draped sofa.¹

Footnote

#. First name Creator/Artist(s) Last name, Title, Date of creation/completion, medium, dimensions (dimensions conversion), Location of work, URL/Database name.

1. Isobel Gloag, The Woman with the Puppets, 1915, oil on canvas, 64.5 x 82.5 cm (25.39 x 32.48 in), Huge Lane Gallery, Dublin, Ireland, http://emuseum.pointblank.ie/online_catalogue/work-detail.php?objectid=619.

Reference

Creator/Artist(s) Last name, First name. Title. Date of creation/completion. Medium, Dimensions (dimensions conversion). Location of work. URL/Database name.

Gloag, Isobel. The Woman with the Puppets. 1915. Oil on canvas, 64.5 x 82.5 cm (25.39 x 32.48 in). Huge Lane Gallery, Dublin, Ireland. http://emuseum.pointblank.ie/online_catalogue/work-detail.php?objectid=619.

Note: In the 17th Edition of the CMOS it sets out that paintings, sculptures and photographs can normally be simply cited in the text, so long as full source details are given. A Footnote and or Bibliography entry is not a requirement.

Including images in your work

Images should appear shortly after you mention them in your paper, and should be numbered (see figure 1).

Chicago style also states that "a brief statement of the source of an illustration, known as a credit line, is usually appropriate." Chicago style does not prescribe the exact format of this statement. The style does not require that images included in a paper be included in the reference list.

If you wish to include the image in your paper, it may be best to put a credit statement following the caption in the same format you would use for a footnote citation, including a statement of the license, copyright, or permission you are reproducing the image under. See the example below.

Example

Figure 1. The Bauhaus building in Dessau, Gunnar Klack, Bauhaus Dessau, Gropiusallee Ecke Bauhausstraße, Dessau-Roßlau, Werkstättenflügel Foto aus Richtung Südosten, 2020, Wikimedia Commons, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:2020-09-18-Bauhaus-Dessau-Werkstattfluegel-Ecke-2.jpg. CC BY-SA 4.0.

In the example above the following elements:

correspond to:

In-text citation

Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

In this piece Hayden talks about the benefits of sea swimming, including a sense of togetherness with others in the water.¹

Footnote

#. Author First name Last name, “Title of Web Page,” Website Name or Publishing Organisation, publication date or last modified date, access date if no other date available, URL.

1. Meadhbh Hayden, “My Tips for Swimming in the Irish Sea,” SpunOut.ie,    February 23, 2021, https://spunout.ie/voices/advice/my-tips-swimming-irish-sea. 

Reference

Author Last name, First name. “Title of Web Page." Website name or Publishing organisation. Publication date or last modified date, year. Access date if no other date available. URL.

Hayden, Meadhbh. “My Tips for Swimming in the Irish Sea." SpunOut.ie. February 23, 2021. https://spunout.ie/voices/advice/my-tips-swimming-irish-sea.

Note: If no author is available, publishing organisation can be used instead. If neither are available, list the web page title first. Use the first word to choose where to place the reference in your alphabetical listing. Ignore articles such as “A”, “The” or “An” when choosing the location.

Note: Only provide an access date, if date published or last modified dates are unavailable.

Note: Publishing organisation does not need to be included if it is the same body as the website name/title/author, as in the case above.